# **EDUCATION AND ECONOMY SCRUTINY COMMITTEE 14/07/22**

# Present: Councillor Beth Lawton (Chair) Councillor Cai Larsen (Vice-chair)

**Councillors:** Jina Gwyrfai, Iwan Huws, Elin Hywel, Dawn Lynne Jones, Dewi Jones, Elwyn Jones, Gwilym Jones, Dewi Owen, Gwynfor Owen, John Pughe Roberts, Richard Glyn Roberts, Huw Llwyd Rowlands, Paul Rowlinson and Rhys Tudur.

**Co-opted Members:** Colette Owen (The Catholic Church), Ruth Roe (Meirionnydd Parent/Governors' Representative) and Karen Vaughan Jones (Dwyfor Parent/Governors' Representative).

**Officers present:** Vera Jones (Democracy and Language Services Manager), Llywela Haf Owain (Senior Language and Scrutiny Advisor), Bethan Adams (Scrutiny Advisor), and Eirian Roberts (Democracy Services Officer).

# 1. ELECTION OF CHAIR

**RESOLVED** to elect Councillor Beth Lawton as Chair of this committee for 2022/23.

#### 2. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

RESOLVED to elect Councillor Cai Larsen as Vice-chair of this committee for 2022/23.

#### 3. APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillors Gareth Tudor Jones and Sasha Williams and Manon Williams (Arfon Parent/Governors' Representative).

# 4. DECLARATION OF PERSONAL INTEREST

No declarations of personal interest were received.

# 5. URGENT BUSINESS

None to note.

#### 6. MINUTES

The Chair signed the minutes of the previous meeting of this committee held on 8th February, 2022 as a true record.

# 7. PERFORMANCE CHALLENGE MEETINGS

The committee were invited to nominate two members to represent the committee at the performance challenge meetings by area of work.

# To nominate representatives to attend Performance Challenge meetings according to the field of work as set out below:-

- <u>Education</u> Councillors Jina Gwyrfai, Beth Lawton and Gwynfor Owen (any 2 of the 3 to attend each meeting)
- <u>Economy and Community</u> Councillors Iwan Huws and Dewi Owen (Councillor Jina Gwyrfai in reserve)
- <u>Corporate Support</u> Councillors Huw Rowlands and Paul Rowlinson
- Finance Councillors Beth Lawton and Elin Hywel

The meeting commenced at 10.00 am and concluded at 10.25 am

CHAIR